specs for R6 engine

Land Rover Series vehicles - The golden oldies

Moderator: pretdave

guido richert

specs for R6 engine

Postby guido richert » 11 Apr 2013 16:22

hi all....have a 86 model with R6 engine and looking for specs...had head skimmed, new solid copper gasget made and need specs re timing setting, torque for headbolts etc...anyone who can help? thanx Guido

jakeslouw

Re: specs for R6 engine

Postby jakeslouw » 11 Apr 2013 18:00

Send me an email at jakeslouw AT gmail DOT com and I'll send you the relevant pages from the manual
1962 Series 2A Pickup
Ex: 1984 110 3.5 V8 Pickup
Ex: 1989 110 3.5 V8 County SW

James21

Postby James21 » 12 Apr 2013 17:20

I am no expert on the R6 but I do believe that you have to replace the head bolts with new ones as they are of the stretch type. If you don’t you end up blowing the head gasket.
Also the engine should not be bored out if you need to replace pistons, stay with standard size pistons as the gap between piston 5 and 6 become to narrow and then you have the problem of the head gasket blowing out between the two pistons. Rather re sleeve as it is a better option.
I have also heard that the R6 Engine is actually an Austen Princess 2.2l engine (fitted to the Rover SD1s 2600) that they gave a longer stroke to make it a 2.6l. So if you can’t get new head bolts for the R6 maybe you can try the SD1s engine.
Perhaps someone else on the forum can confirm this.
Best of Luck
James
:shock: :!: :?:

guido richert

Postby guido richert » 13 Apr 2013 07:59

thanx james for your info and jake i'll mail you now...cheers G

JGP1980

Postby JGP1980 » 01 Jul 2013 00:45