Considering Disco3

Land Rover Discovery 1, 2 and 3

Moderator: pretdave

johanvanrensburg

Considering Disco3

Postby johanvanrensburg » 22 May 2011 15:11

I’ve been driving a Disco 1 V8 ES auto (1996 model) for the past 10 years. It is generally a lovely vehicle, but reliability and built quality is problematic. It is time to move on – but where to?

My wife is adamant that a Prado is the way to go – due to reliability issues with Land Rover, and suggests my preference for Land Rover is purely emotional! I think she’s right :) .

I am considering a Prado 3.0 diesel, Disco 3 TDV6, or perhaps the Disco 3 V6. Although I love petrol engines, the fuel consumption and especially range is problematic. My current V8 seldom reaches 450km on a tank.

It is obvious that the Disco 3 is a much improved vehicle – but how reliable is it exactly? I hear that when things go wrong, it can be costly. In my opinion there are 2 factors to consider:
1. Cost of maintenance
2. Probability of getting stuck with a problem.
The cost of maintenance is not the most critical factor – if an expense is expected, such as cam belt on 150000km at R15k, then it can be planned and budgeted for. The cost differential between a 2nd hand Prado and Disco 3 is such that there is a healthy budget left for maintenance on the Disco (at least R50k price differential it seems). It is the unexpected misfortune that worries me. What is the chance of getting stuck somewhere in Botswana with a Disco 3? I am not technically oriented, and require a vehicle that can take me places and back again without hiccups – I’ll have the maintenance done by the experts in between.

How many Disco 3 owners are out there who have had absolute trouble free service from there vehicles? Is “trouble free” and “Land Rover” realistically usable in the same sentence?

Is the V6 more reliable than the TDV6?

How bad is the turbolag on the TDV6?

What is the typical cost of maintaining a Disco 3 compared to Disco 1?